I’ve been circling this thing for a while now. And I love the thought of it.

The power of the Christian in the world largely has to do with just showing up. That’s it. Just showing up. Wear a big nametag that says “CHRISTIAN” and that’s it. Just being there – and not even in some deep way, philisophical way, necessarily. You don’t have to have all the answers, or have your own life all together or any of that “good enough” stuff. You just have to show up. Just physically go there.

And see what happens.

It’s an odditiy, for sure. A big hesitation of my own is in worrying if I’ll be able to contribute or do anything worthwhile: how can I do anything? Yet, showing up does something. Showing up gives people a glipse into God and Jesus Christ – even if you don’t actually “come out swinging”. It’s reassuring to some folks, bothersome to others. Yet, there you are. Just … there. Showing up.

Maybe there’s some simplicity to being a city on a hill:

Ye are the light of the world. A city that is set on an hill cannot be hid.
Matthew 5:14

When you show up, you become a city on a hill. You don’t have to do anything because you’re already on the hill. Because you showed up.

  • You show up, and people start talking to you.
  • You show up, and you start talking to people.
  • You show up, and you get a chance to show kindness to folks.
  • You show up, and you get to love on those on the outside.

What if you didn’t show up – who would get to do all those great things? Plus, how would God be able to move in you if you’re not even around?

It’s been a simple, yet powerful step for me. When I show up, I allow God to do something with my little display of willingness. And it’s pretty awesome what He makes available when I’m around.

Next time you have the opportunity – show up.

Comments

Leave a comment