I have to work at being nice to people. Not being perfect, it’s a way to feel better about oneself. (My self-esteem issues are part of my character defects, still in progress.)

We are all broken. Wounded. Hurting. Whether we admit it or not. Or even care or not. It’s there – the broken part of us that partially defines us, haunts us, mocks us. Our insecurity and shortcomings. The part of us we wish we could hide.

This Post is Not About Our Hurts
The list above – the yuck we carry around – it can get overwhelming and Self-focused. But put that aside for a minute – this is not about us. No, instead it’s all about Them.

The folks we see in the hallway, on the street, in cars as we pass them by (or are passed by them), at the park, in the aisles of the store. Those all around us. They are hurting too, just like you and I. Quite possibly, even worse than anything we’ve ever had to think about or deal with or work through.

Yet we – or maybe I – wouldn’t think twice about criticizing the way a person laughs or walks or talks or looks or hang out with so-and-so or does whatever for a living or are plain just not me.

Pretty sad. (Sorry, God – but thanks for your mercy, forgiveness and grace.)

It’s at those times I pause and think (am trying to do more anyway): “What if this person is hurting just like me, or worse? What if God is trying to work on this person, save him or her, show Himself to this person I’ve just “cast aside” so carelessly?

Ew. Sigh.

So.. now I’m trying to catch myself before I get to far down my thought patterns. Unnecessarily thoughtless and inconsiderate. But I’m trying to change that. And it’s helpful to think these things through. I am making progress.

What if those other people need a little Grace today? What if someone needs a little Mercy? Or understanding? Or peace? Or hope? Or joy?

In other words… what if I’m standing in front of them?

And whatsoever ye do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God and the Father by him.
Colossians 3:17

I have the power to change them for good. Help them, save them, protect them, shelter them. And so do you.

I’m seeing differently.

🙂

Leave a comment