What Are You Hiding Behind?

Posted: September 2, 2011 in Christianity, Life's Journey
Tags: , , , , ,

I was running the other day as part of training for an upcoming manly event. I also like to spend time during my run talking with God and telling Him about things in my life, etc. problems, areas of concern or joy, etc.

It was during this last run, though, that God asked a very direct question – what are you hiding from?

Actually, it was more like “You hide behind music.” I was a bit shocked because (1) I’m not actively performing anywhere or anything like that and (2) I like to sing and do music things for God (not primarily for God, but when the opportunity arises, sure). What a twist.

I had to think about – God, I sing for you and praise you, I reasoned, How can that be something I’m hiding behind?

As I pressed in, it became clear that it was a mask, a facade, a lie. It wasn’t who I really was. Or, to take it even further, not who I could be/ should be.

So, it’s good to sing praises to God and want to sing – but if you’re doing it for the wrong reason, it’s for the wrong reason.

It’s about being naked before God.

Remember how it played out in Genesis? There was the before:

And they were both naked, the man and his wife, and were not ashamed.
Genesis 2:25

And the after:

And the eyes of them both were opened, and they knew that they [were] naked; and they sewed fig leaves together, and made themselves aprons.
Genesis 3:7

What did Adam and Eve do – they hid. And worse, they hid behind something of their own creation. Something they thought was “enough” or proper substitute for their current inability to be naked.

Yeah, we look back and say “Bah, how could they?!” but here I am with the same dilema.

I like it – being exposed and having to face reality. Because I know I want to be open with God and that he wants me to be open with Him as well.

Thanks for bringing this up, God. Now I just need to work through it.

🙂

Leave a comment